DBSA

NJ Advocacy Workshop

June 7th, 2014

Virginia M. Plaza, R.Ph

NEW JERSEY

Three Branches of Government

Executive: Gov. Christopher Christie (R)

Lt. Gov. Kim Guadagno (R)

Legislature: Senate 24 D; 16 R

-Stephen Sweeney, Senate President D-3

-Thomas Kean, Jr. Republican Leader R-2

<u>Judiciary</u>: Stuart Rabner, Chief Justice 6 Associate Justices



The State House in Trenton, New Jersey

NJ State Departments and Agencies

Executive Branch (Cabinet)

Department of Human Services

→ Commissioner: Jennifer Velez

Divisions and Offices

- → Division of Medical Assistance Services
- → Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services

Treasury

→ Treasurer: Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff

<u>Department of Public Safety and Security</u> Governor's Council on Mental Health Stigma

NEW JERSEY LEGISLATURE

NJ State Senate

40 Members

24 Democrats16 Republicans

NJ Assembly

80 Members

48 Democrats 32 Republicans

Sen. Pres. Stephen Sweeney D-3
Maj. Leader Loretta Weinberg D-37

Repub. Leader Thomas Kean, Jr. R-21
Dpty. Repub. Leader Diane Allen R-7

Speaker Vincent Prieto D-32
Maj. Leader Lou Greenwald D-6

Repub. Leader Jon Bramnick R-21

R-30

Dpty. Leader Dave Rible

NJ Legislature Office of Legislative Services

Gov. Richard J. Codey D-28

Senate Committees

Health, Human Services and Senior Citizens
Budget and Appropriations
Law and Public Safety
Education

Assembly Committees

Health and Senior Services
Human Services
Law and Public Safety
Education

NJ Behavioral Health Advocacy

Mental Health Association in New Jersey

Advocacy

NAMI NJ

<u>Advocacy</u>

New Jersey Association of Mental Health and Addiction Agencies

Advocacy

Carolyn Beauchamp

Sylvia Axelrod

Debra Wentz